Remembering Huel Perkins

Huel Perkins was one of the first administrators I met at LSU. He was Associate Vice Chancellor when I arrived in 1988, and we met through our mutual association with the Fulbright program.

Over the years, we hardly ever met in an office or at a meeting. Yet, every time I felt I needed his advice or consult, I would run into him walking around campus. Near T. Boyd Hall or the Campanile, in the quad, or at the Faculty Club, it just seemed that karma brought us together when needed.

I remember him as a thoughtful and gracious man, who always smiled, who was always glad to see you, and who always knew the right thing to say.

Humanitarian Huel Perkins dies at 88 | Home | The Advocate — Baton Rouge, LA.

Leave a Reply

